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THE WEST VIRGINIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES


GRIEVANCE BOARD

KAREN ANN SNODERLY,



Grievant,

v.






Docket No. 2014-0732-BroED

BROOKE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION,



Respondent.


DECISION


Grievant, Karen Ann Snoderly, filed this action on November 25, 2013, against her

employer, Brooke County Board of Education, alleging the following:

Grievant has been relegated to a condition of employment i.e. a reduction in pay, without her consent in violation of 18A-4-8 CMD.  Furthermore the Board of Education has breached their employment contract with the grievant by paying her less than the contracted amount.

Grievant seeks the following relief:

Grievant requests she receive the pay she contracted for, plus interest.  Additionally, grievant requests all overtime pay be recalculated and paid at the hourly rate that corresponds to the contracted amount.


This grievance was denied at level one by decision dated August 19, 2014.  A mediation session was conducted on April 24, 2015.  A level three evidentiary hearing was conducted before the undersigned on September 21, 2015, at the Westover office of the Grievance Board.  Grievant appeared pro se.  Respondent appeared by its counsel, David F. Cross, Office of the Prosecuting Attorney, Brooke County, West Virginia.  This matter became mature for consideration on October 26, 2015, the post-mark date for the receipt of the parties’ fact/law proposals.


Synopsis


Grievant is employed by Respondent as a bus operator.  A written contract was entered into between the parties for the 2013-2014 school year for the amount of $22,280.00.  Respondent perceived that they had made a mistake, after consultation with the State Department of Education, in calculating Grievant’s annual salary in regard to a salary supplement for advanced degrees.  Respondent notified Grievant by letter dated November 19, 2013, that her annual salary should be $21,480.00.  Grievant asserts that Respondent violated West Virginia code § 18A-4-8.  Grievant asserts that the reduced salary was incorrect due to the failure to grant her an additional salary supplement.  Grievant met her burden of proof in demonstrating that the reduced salary was incorrectly calculated.  However, Grievant failed to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that Respondent violated West Virginia law when it reduced her contract in accordance with the directive of the State Superintendent of Schools.  Therefore, the grievance is granted, in part, and denied, in part.


The following Findings of Fact are based on the record of this case.


Findings of Fact


1.
Grievant was employed by Respondent during the 2013-2014 school year as a full time Bus Operator working a 200-day or 10 month contract.  A written contract was entered into between the parties which indicated that her annual salary would be $22,280.00.


2.
Respondent felt the amount was in error and by letter dated November 19, 2013, advised Grievant that the Board had made a mistake in her annual salary and that the correct annual salary should be $21,480.00.


3.
In calculating the correct rate of pay for a Bus Operator a board of education must give consideration to the years of experience of the employee, the educational background of the employee including whether the employee holds a high school diploma or its equivalent, the number of college hours completed by the employee, whether the employee holds an associate’s degree, bachelor’s degree or master’s degree, and based upon the same the employee’s salary is adjusted.


4.
The statutory provision indicates that $40.00 per month is added to the minimum monthly pay for a service person when that person holds an associate’s degree, bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, or a doctorate degree.  The statute does not indicate that a service person be paid an additional $40.00 per each associate’s degree.


5.
Respondent first determined that Grievant would be entitled to a base salary of $19,230.00 annually based on her pay grade.  Grievant was entitled to an extra $11.00 a month with a 10 month cumulative total of $1,100.00 because she was a service person who held 120 college hours or comparable credit obtained in a trade or vocational school as approved by the State Board of Education.  Respondent also determined that Grievant was entitled to be paid an additional $40.00 per month because Grievant held an Associate’s Degree and $40.00 a month because Grievant held a Bachelor’s Degree.  Respondent then totaled these additions, plus an additional November 2013 check in the amount of $350.00,  and determined that Grievant’s annual salary should be $21,480.00.


6.
Grievant seeks to be paid an additional $80.00 per month because she has three Associate’s Degrees.  Grievant also seeks to be paid an additional $11.00 per month for the BA + 15 hours of education that she has earned.


Discussion


As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievant has the burden of proving her grievance by a preponderance of the evidence. Procedural Rules of the Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008); Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990). See also Holly v. Logan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997); Hanshaw v. McDowell County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988). "The preponderance standard generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a contested fact is more likely true than not." Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).


West Virginia Code § 18A-4-8a provides, in pertinent part, the following:

(d) An additional $40 per month is also added to the minimum monthly pay of each service person for each of the following:


(1) A service person who holds an associate’s degree;



(2) A service person who holds a bachelor’s degree;



(3) A service person who holds a master’s degree;



(4) A service person who holds a doctorate degree.

(e) An additional $11 per month is added to the minimum monthly pay of each service person for each of the following:


(1) A service person who holds a bachelor’s degree plus fifteen college hours.


Respondent points out that their decision in not stacking the Grievant’s Associate’s Degrees was based on a State Superintendent’s statutory interpretation of a similar situation in which the service employee held more than one Associate’s degree.  That State Department memo instructed that an additional $40 per month should be paid to a service person employee if he or she holds a degree, but an employee is not entitled to an additional $40 per month payment for each individual Associate’s degree held.  Respondent is correct to point out that the State Superintendent’s interpretations are to be given weight unless clearly wrong or in conflict with case law precedent.
  The State Department’s interpretation and guidance cannot be viewed as clearly wrong as the memo simply mirrors the language found in the statute.  Although the statute on salary supplement when possessing various advanced degrees by itself is not particularly unclear, it is open to interpretation.  “‘In the interpretation of statutory provisions the familiar maxim expressio unius est exclusioalterius, the express mention of one thing implies the exclusion of another, applies.’  Syl. pt. 3, Manchin v. Dunfee, 174 W. Va. 532, 327 S.E.2d 710 (1984).”  Shawnee Bank, Inc. v. Paige, 200 W. Va. 20, 27, 488 S.E.2d 20, 27 (1997).  Therefore, it must be assumed that if the legislature had intended stacking of multiple associate’s degrees, it would have said so directly.


Grievant also asserts that she was relegated to a condition of employment, a reduction in pay, without her consent.  Grievant asserts a violation of what is referred to as the non-relegation clause.  West Virginia Code § 18A-4-8(m) provides as follows:

Without his or her written consent, a service person may not be:

(1) Reclassified by class title; or

(2) Relegated to any condition of employment which would result in a reduction of his or her salary, rate of pay, compensation or benefits earned during the current fiscal year; or for which he or she would qualify by continuing in the same job position and classification held during that fiscal year and subsequent years. 


Grievant’s rate of pay was altered because the assistant superintendent recognized the compensation was in error, and corrected the mistake immediately upon becoming aware of the situation.  Grievant’s annual salary supplement was altered to correct the error made in the contract by the assistant superintendent.  It did not result in a violation of the non-relegation clause.  The Grievance Board has long recognized that boards of education should be encouraged to correct their errors as early as possible.  Conners v. Hardy County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 99-16-459 (Jan. 14, 2000); Barrett v. Hancock County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-15-512 (Dec. 31, 1997). 


Finally, Grievant is correct to point out that Respondent applied only part of the State Superintendent’s interpretation in the recalculating of her contract.  Grievant is entitled to an additional $11 per month because she holds a Bachelor’s Degree plus well over fifteen college hours.  Grievant was entitled to an annual salary of $21,590.00 for the 2013-2014 school year.


The following Conclusions of Law support the decision reached.


Conclusions of Law


1.
As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievant has the burden of proving her grievance by a preponderance of the evidence. Procedural Rules of the Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008); Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990). See also Holly v. Logan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997); Hanshaw v. McDowell County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).


2.
The opinion and statutory interpretation of the State Superintendent of Schools is entitled to great weight.  Smith v. Board of Education of the County of Logan, 341 S.E.2d 685 (W.Va. 1985); Dillon, et. al., v. Board of Education of the County of Mingo, 301 S.E.2d 588 (W.Va. 1983).


3.
Grievance demonstrated by preponderance of the evidence that she was entitled to an additional salary amount of $11 per month because she holds a Bachelor’s Degree plus fifteen college hours.  Grievant is entitled to annual salary of $21,590.00.


Accordingly, this grievance is DENIED, in part, and GRANTED, in part.


Respondent is ORDERED to pay an annual salary of $21,590.00 for the 2013-2014 school year, plus all benefits.  


Any party may appeal this Decision to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County. Any such appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of receipt of this Decision.  See W. Va. Code § 6C-2-5. Neither the West Virginia Public Employees Grievance Board nor any of its Administrative Law Judges is a party to such appeal and should not be so named. However, the appealing party is required by W. Va. Code § 29A-5-4(b) to serve a copy of the appeal petition upon the Grievance Board. The Civil Action number should be included so that the certified record can be properly filed with the circuit court.  See also 156 C.S.R. 1 § 6.20 (2008).

Date:
 December 4, 2015                              
__________________________________








Ronald L. Reece







  
Administrative Law Judge
�Grievant makes this second claim based on a State Superintendent’s memo to Respondent interpreting the relevant statute, and a plain reading of the statute.  Grievant does possess a Bachelor’s Degree + 15.


�The opinion and statutory interpretation of the State Superintendent of Schools is entitled to great weight.  Smith v. Board of Education of the County of Logan, 341 S.E.2d 685 (W.Va. 1985); Dillon, et. al., v. Board of Education of the County of Mingo, 301 S.E.2d 588 (W.Va. 1983).









