
THE WEST VIRGINIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES
GRIEVANCE BOARD

RANDALL BALDUCCI, et al.,
Grievants,

v. Docket No. 2016-1852-CONS

DIVISION OF CORRECTIONS/HUTTONSVILLE
CORRECTIONAL CENTER,

Respondent.

DECISION

Grievants filed this action against their employer, West Virginia Division of

Corrections, on June 24, 2016.  Their Statement of Grievance reads as follows:

Working 12 hour days and only receiving 12 hours of Annual Leave a month. 
Under Administrative Rule 14.3 - Annual Leave it states that 5 years, but less
than 10 years will receive 1.50 days a month.  This means I should be
receiving 18 hours of annual leave a month.  Rule 14.4 - Sick leave is
computed on the basis of hours equal to 1.5 days.  It is currently based on
an 8 hour day instead of a 12 hours day.

Grievants seek to receive the appropriate annual and sick leave and hours owed.

This grievance was denied at Level One by the Deputy Commissioner based upon

the recommendation of the Level One Evaluator on July 22, 2016.  A Level Two mediation

session was conducted on November 4, 2016.  A Level Three evidentiary hearing was

conducted before the undersigned on April 6, 2017, at the Randolph County Development

Authority, Elkins, West Virginia.  Grievants appeared pro se.  Respondent appeared by its

counsel, Cynthia Gardner, Assistant Attorney General.  This matter became mature for

consideration on the postmark date of May 8, 2017,for the parties’ fact/law proposals.



Synopsis

Grievants are classified as Correctional Officers assigned to work regularly

scheduled twelve-hour shifts.  Grievants allege that they are entitled to have a “day”

considered to be twelve hours for purposes of calculating annual and sick leave pursuant

to the West Virginia Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rules.  Record established that

annual leave is awarded in increasing increments depending upon an employee’s length

of service.  Grievants’ argument regarding sick leave is also without merit.  Full-time

employees accrue 1.5 days per month of sick leave.  Grievants have not proven by a

preponderance of the evidence that Respondent violated, misapplied or misinterpreted the

Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rules regarding the accrual of annual and sick

leave.

The following Findings of Fact are based upon the record of this case.

Findings of Fact

1. Grievants are all employed with the West Virginia Division of Corrections at

the Huttonsville Correctional Center.

2. Grievants are classified as Correctional Officers assigned to work regularly

scheduled twelve hour shifts.  Grievants generally rotate between work schedules of three

twelve-hour shifts one week and four twelve-hour shifts the following week.  This regular

schedule of twelve-hour shifts does not include any voluntary and mandatory overtime

worked by Grievants.

3. The rule in issue in this case is section 14.3 of the Administrative Legislative

Rules of the West Virginia Division of Personnel.  Under this rule the rate at which an
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employee earns annual leave depends upon the employee’s length of service.  Four

length-of-service categories are established, as set forth below:

Less than 5 years of qualifying service 1.25 days/month
5 years but less than 10 years of qualifying service 1.50 days/month
10 years but less than 15 years of qualifying service 1.75 days/month
15 years or more of qualifying service 2.00 days/month

4. The other rule in issue in this case is section 14.4 of the Administrative

Legislative Rules of the West Virginia Division of Personnel.  That rule provides sick leave

is computed on the basis of hours equal to 1.5 days per month for full-time employees.

5. Rule 14.3 of the Administrative Legislative Rules of the West Virginia Division

of Personnel provides . . . a “day” is based on the agency’s established number of hours

in the work day and shall not exceed eight (8) hours . . . the leave accrual may be

calculated on a biweekly basis.

6. While employed at Huttonsville Correctional Center, Grievants have accrued

annual and sick leave where one “day” of earned accrued leave is the equivalent of eight

working hours.

Discussion

As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the burden

of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules of the

Public Employees Grievance Board 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008); Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of

Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990). See also Holly v. Logan

County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997); Hanshaw v. McDowell County

Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).  "The preponderance standard

generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a
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contested fact is more likely true than not."  Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human

Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).

The essential facts are not in dispute.  Grievants assert that they are entitled to have

a “day” considered to be twelve hours for purposes of calculating annual and sick leave

accrual.  The limited record of this case did not demonstrate that Respondent violated,

misapplied or misinterpreted the Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rule regarding the

accrual of annual or sick leave.  Grievants did not point to any statute, policy or written

agreement regarding how long a “day” of annual or sick leave is to be calculated. The

relevant authorities regarding the accrual of annual and sick leave would be the Division

of Personnel’s Administrative Rules and the practices of Respondent.  Neither of these

authorities support Grievants argument that a “day” for purposes of annual and sick leave

accrual must be calculated based upon the length of one of their regularly scheduled

twelve hour work shifts.

In Brackman v. W. Va. Div. of Corrections, Docket No. 03-CORR-166 (Oct. 8, 2003),

the same argument was presented as raised in the instant matter.  In the Brackman case,

the Division of Personnel maintained that a “day,” for the purposes of annual and sick

leave accrual, was not based upon a particular amount of hours worked during either a

day, a shift or a work week.  The Brackman decision noted that there is no formula for

calculating annual leave, it merely awards, in increasing increments, days off for

employees of the State, depending upon their length of service and found there was no

support or authority for Grievant’s contention that annual leave is based upon hours

worked per day.  In 2016, the Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rules clarified that the

Respondent’s practice of a day of annual or sick leave equating to eight hours of leave,
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was well within the Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rules.  The language of that rule

indicates that a “day” is based on the agency’s established number of hours in the work

day and cannot exceed eight hours.  The Division of Personnel’s 2016 Administrative

Rules also clarified that a day of annual or sick leave in excess of eight hours, was not

permitted.

The following Conclusions of Law supports the decision reached.

Conclusions of Law

1. As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the

burden of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules

of the Public Employees Grievance Board 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008); Howell v. W. Va. Dep't

of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990). See also Holly v. Logan

County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997); Hanshaw v. McDowell County

Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).

2. Section 14.3 of the Administrative Legislative Rules of the West Virginia

Division of Personnel provides the rate at which an employee earns annual leave depends

upon the employee’s length of service.  Four length-of-service categories are established,

as set forth below:

Less than 5 years of qualifying service 1.25 days/month
5 years but less than 10 years of qualifying service 1.50 days/month
10 years but less than 15 years of qualifying service 1.75 days/month
15 years or more of qualifying service 2.00 days/month

3. Section 14.4 of the Administrative Legislative Rules of the West Virginia

Division of Personnel provides sick leave is computed on the basis of hours equal to 1.5

days per month for full-time employees.
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4. Rule 14.3 of the Administrative Legislative Rules of the West Virginia Division

of Personnel provides . . . a “day” is based on the agency’s established number of hours

in the work day and shall not exceed eight (8) hours . . . the leave accrual may be

calculated on a biweekly basis.

5. Grievants have failed to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the

Huttonsville Correctional Center has violated any of the above Rules with regard to the

accrual of annual and sick leave.

Accordingly, this grievance is DENIED.

Any party may appeal this Decision to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County. Any

such appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of receipt of this Decision.  See W. VA.

CODE § 6C-2-5. Neither the West Virginia Public Employees Grievance Board nor any of

its Administrative Law Judges is a party to such appeal and should not be so named.

However, the appealing party is required by W. VA. CODE § 29A-5-4(b) to serve a copy of

the appeal petition upon the Grievance Board. The Civil Action number should be included

so that the certified record can be properly filed with the circuit court.  See also 156 C.S.R.

1 § 6.20 (2008).

Date:  June 2, 2017                                  __________________________________
Ronald L. Reece

  Administrative Law Judge
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