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THE WEST VIRGINIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES


GRIEVANCE BOARD

TAMMI HARDMAN, et al.,


Grievants,

v. 






DOCKET NO. 2016-0059-CONS

GILMER COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION,


Respondent. 


DECISION

Grievants, Tammi Hardman and Jackie McCord, filed a grievance against their employer, the Gilmer County Board of Education, on July 16, 2015.  The statement of grievance reads, “Respondent eliminated the paid vacation of Grievants without due process notice and opportunity for a hearing as required by W. Va. Code 18A-2-6.  Grievants also allege a violation of W. Va. Code 18A-4-8(m).”  As relief Grievants seek “restoration of paid vacation and compensation for any and all lost wages with interest.”


A hearing was held at level one on August 14, 2015, and a decision denying the grievance at that level was issued on September 4, 2015.  Grievants appealed to level two on September 18, 2015, and a mediation session was held on January 15, 2016.  Grievants appealed to level three on February 3, 2016, and a level three hearing was held before the undersigned Administrative Law Judge on May 25, 2016, at the Grievance Board’s Westover, West Virginia, office.  Grievants were represented by John Everett Roush, Esquire, West Virginia School Service Personnel Association, and Respondent was represented by Denise M. Spatafore, Esquire, Dinsmore & Shohl, LLP.  This matter became mature for decision on July 5, 2016, on receipt of the last of the parties’ Proposed Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.


Synopsis

Grievants are employed by Respondent as Custodians, under 230-day contracts.  In prior years they had 9 paid vacation days.  Respondent eliminated all paid vacation days without Grievants’ consent, altering one of the benefits of their employment, without increasing their compensation for the 9 additional days they are working.  Grievants demonstrated that Respondent violated the non-relegation clause.

The following Findings of Fact are properly made from the record developed at  levels one and three.


Findings of Fact

1.
Grievant Hardman has been employed by the Gilmer County Board of Education (“GBOE”) for 10 years as a Custodian.


2.
Grievant McCord has been employed by GBOE for 20 years as a Custodian.


3.
Grievants are employed under 230-day contracts.


4.
Prior to the 2015-2016 school year, Grievants were entitled to 9 paid vacation days out of the 230 days in their contracts, in addition to the 31 days of their choosing which they did not work out of a 261-day school year.  In addition, all service personnel employees earned 1.5 days per month of sick leave, and were not required to report to work during Thanksgiving break, Christmas break, or Spring break nor were they required to take any type of leave during these breaks.  Service personnel employed under 230-day contracts were allowed to carry over a maximum of 5 vacation days to the next year.


5.
GBOE Policy # 4153, adopted January 25, 2005, entitled “Vacation for Extended Time Employees,” stated that GBOE “will grant vacation to extended time employees who work the major portion of a twenty (20) day month beyond the two hundred (200) day employment contract.”  The Policy set forth the number of vacation days for personnel employed under contracts for 210 days to 261 days.  The Policy stated that 230 day employees would have 9 vacation days, and 250 day employees would have 15 vacation days.  The maximum contract term noted in the Policy was 261 days, which is the maximum number of working days in a school year.  The Policy further stated that “[a]n employee working 230 days or less may carryover 5 days annually.”  Employees working more than 230 days could carry over 10 days.


6.
GBOE adopted Policy No. 4020 on July 21, 2014, which replaced Policy # 4153.
  Policy No. 4020 states that 261-day employees are eligible to accumulate vacation time.  The Policy states under the heading “Release Time,” that “[v]acation time off with pay is not available to Gilmer County employees.  However, ‘Release Time’ to provide opportunities for rest, relaxation, and personal pursuits is built into the work calendar.”  The Policy states that 230-day employees receive 31 release days each year.  The Policy states that 250-day employees receive 15 release days each year.  The Policy further states that “Release Time may not be carried over from year to year.”  This Policy was not applied by GBOE until the 2015-2016 school year.


7.
Effective beginning the 2015-2016 school year, if a GBOE service personnel employee took any time off during Thanksgiving, Christmas, or Spring break, it was recorded as one of their release days.


8.
Respondent is not paying Grievants any additional compensation for the 9 additional days they must report to work each year.


9.
Grievant McCord became aware that he would no longer receive the 9 days of vacation sometime around the beginning of June 2015, when the principal at the school to which he was assigned advised him of this change.  Grievant Hardman became aware of this change in late May 2015, when a co-worker told her about it.


10.
Grievants did not consent to the removal of their paid vacation days.


11.
Respondent did not terminate Grievants’ continuing contracts prior to removal of the 9 vacation days.


12.
Respondent asserted a timeliness defense at level one.




Discussion

Respondent first asserts that, with regard to challenges to Policy No. 4020,  the grievance was not filed within the time period allowed by W. Va. Code § 6C-2-4, and therefore these challenges must be dismissed.  When an employer seeks to have a grievance dismissed on the basis that it was not timely filed, the employer has the burden of demonstrating such untimely filing by a preponderance of the evidence. Once the employer has demonstrated a grievance has not been timely filed, the employee has the burden of demonstrating a proper basis to excuse his failure to file in a timely manner. Higginbotham v. W. Va. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Docket No. 97-DPS-018 (Mar. 31, 1997); Sayre v. Mason County Health Dep't, Docket No. 95-MCHD-435 (Dec. 29, 1995), aff'd, Circuit Court of Mason County, No. 96-C-02 (June 17, 1996). See Ball v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 94-20-384 (Mar. 13, 1995); Woods v. Fairmont State College, Docket No. 93-BOD-157 (Jan. 31, 1994); Jack v. W. Va. Div. of Human Serv., Docket No. 90-DHS-524 (May 14, 1991).  “If proven, an untimely filing will defeat a grievance, in which case the merits of the case need not be addressed.  Lynch v. W. Va. Dep't of Transp., Docket No. 97-DOH-060 (July 16, 1997).”  Carnes v. Raleigh County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 01-41-351 (Nov. 13, 2001).  


West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-3(a)(1) requires an employee to "file a grievance within the time limits specified in this article."  West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-4(a)(1) identifies the time lines for filing a grievance and states:

Within fifteen days following the occurrence of the event upon which the grievance is based, or within fifteen days of the date upon which the event became known to the employee, or within fifteen days of the most recent occurrence of a continuing practice giving rise to a grievance, an employee may file a written grievance with the chief administrator stating the nature of the grievance and the relief requested and request either a conference or a hearing. . . .

The time period for filing a grievance ordinarily begins to run when the employee is “unequivocally notified of the decision being challenged.” Harvey v. W. Va. Bureau of Empl. Programs, Docket No. 96-BEP-484 (Mar. 6, 1998); Whalen v. Mason County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 97-26-234 (Feb. 27, 1998).


Respondent argues that the policy being challenged was adopted by GBOE on July 21, 2014, and this grievance was not filed until almost a year later.  Grievants assert that they were not aware of the new policy until shortly before the grievance was filed.  Grievants’ testimony, however, demonstrates that at the very latest, Grievants were aware of the new policy by early June 2015, yet they did not file the grievance until July 16, 2015, clearly more than 15 working days after they learned of the policy.


One exception to timely filing is the continuing practice exception.  Misclassification, for example, is a continuing practice; however, it is well-settled that, where the employer raises the defense of timeliness in such a case, the right to back pay is limited to ten days preceding the filing of the grievance.  Martin v. Randolph County Bd. of Educ., 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995); Craig v. W. Va. Dep’t of Health and Human Resources, Docket No. 98-HHR-334 (June 24, 1999).  In addition, the “‘Grievance Board has consistently recognized that, in accordance with Martin v. Randolph County Board of Education, 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995), disputes alleging pay disparity are continuing violations, which may be grieved within fifteen days of the most recent occurrence, i.e. the issuance of a paycheck.  See Haddox v. Mason County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 98-26-283 (Nov. 30, 1998); Casto v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 95-20-567 (May 30, 1996).’  Fleece v. Morgan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 99-32-090 (Aug. 13, 1999).”  See v. Dep’t of Educ., Docket No. 03-DOE-047 (June 25, 2003).  In Blon/Exline v. West Virginia University, Docket No. 07-HE-152 (June 16, 2008), the undersigned concluded that Respondent’s interpretation of its holiday pay policy was a continuing practice, which recurred each time the grievants were required to work a holiday.  The Grievance Board has also found that the application of a respondent’s Dress Code was a continuing practice, which recurred each time the Dress Code was applied to an employee.  King, et al., v. Lewis County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 2014-0456-CONS (Aug. 26, 2015).  Likewise, the application of the Policy at issue is within the continuing practice exception.  Respondent did not demonstrate that the grievance was not timely filed.


As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the burden of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules of the Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008);  Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990).  See also Holly v. Logan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997);  Hanshaw v. McDowell County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).  "The preponderance standard generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a contested fact is more likely true than not."  Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).


Grievants assert that the terms of their employment have been changed without proper notice, challenging only the loss of the 9 paid vacation days.  Respondent asserts that Grievants are mistaken in their belief that they had paid vacation days, asserting that Grievants never had paid vacation days, but rather had only the 31 days they could take off without pay during the school year, which were the difference between the 161-day school year and the 230-day contract.  Respondent asserts that the only thing that has been changed is that the term vacation days is no longer used.  Therefore, according to Respondent the terms of Grievants’ employment have not been changed.


It is difficult to believe that the undersigned would have to make a determination as to whether Grievants or Respondent are correct about this very basic condition of employment, particularly when Mr. McCord has worked for Respondent for 20 years.  Originally, there were five Grievants, and every one of them testified at the level one hearing that they had paid vacation days which were taken out of the 230-day contract days, until the adoption of Policy No. 4020.  It is further difficult to believe that all five of these employees had the same mistaken belief that paid vacation days was one of the benefits of their employment.  Further, Sharon Ratliff, an Accountant III for GBOE, who is responsible for payroll information for employees, testified that the days referred to in the old policy as vacation days were paid days off, whereas now, the days listed in the policy as release days are unpaid days off, and the only paid days off are personal days, which employees earned under both policies.  The language of the old policy also supports this, as not only are the days referred to as “vacation” days, normally a term used to refer to paid days off work, but if the days being referred to were those days between the 230-day contract and the 261-days possible during the school year, then a 230-day employee should have had 31 vacation days, not 9, and a 250-day employee should have had 11 days, not 15.  Respondent emphasizes that Grievants’ salaries have not changed.  While that is certainly true, one of their benefits has been affected significantly without a corresponding increase in their salary.  The undersigned concludes that under Policy # 4153, Grievants had 31 unpaid days off work, which was the difference between their contract and the number of possible work days, and in addition to these 31 days, they also had 9 paid vacation days, for a total of 40 days they did not work during the school year, plus break days.  Now, Grievants have 31 unpaid days off work and no paid vacation days or break days.  They have lost 9 days of paid vacation, without receiving a corresponding increase in pay for the additional days they are now required to work, which constitutes a lost benefit.


West Virginia Code § 18A-2-6, in part, as follows:

After three years of acceptable employment, each service personnel employee who enters into a new contract of employment with the board shall be granted continuing contract status: Provided, That a service personnel employee holding continuing contract status with one county shall be granted continuing contract status with any other county upon completion of one year of acceptable employment if such employment is during the next succeeding school year or immediately following an approved leave of absence extending no more than one year.  The continuing contract of any such employee shall remain in full force and effect except as modified by mutual consent of the school board and the employee, unless and until terminated with written notice, stating cause or causes, to the employee, by a majority vote of the fill membership of the board before March 1 of the then current year, or by written resignation of the employee on or before that date,  The affected employee has the right of a hearing before the board, if requested, before final action is taken by the board upon the termination of such employment. 

Further, West Virginia Code § 18A-4-8(m) states, “[w]ithout his or her written consent, a service person may not be: (1) Reclassified by class title; or (2) Relegated to any condition of employment which would result in a reduction of his or her salary, rate of pay, compensation or benefits earned during the current fiscal year; or for which he or she would qualify by continuing in the same job position and classification held during that fiscal year and subsequent years.”


The facts of this case are essentially the same as those “in Lambert v. Mercer County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 91-27-520 (May 27, 1992), where this Grievance Board found a violation of the ‘non-relegation clause’ included in W. Va. Code § 18A-4-8 when a service employee’s work hours were increased by one-half hour each day, without her consent or an increase in her salary.  Accord, Pietrantozzi v. Mercer County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 94-27-130 (Dec. 29, 1994).”  Nott, et al., v. Mason County Bd. of Educ., 2012-0140-CONS (Jan. 17, 2013), aff’d Kanawha County Cir. Ct., Civil Action No. 13-AA-23 (Feb. 12, 2013).  Nott was the result of the board of education changing its practice of paying service employees additional pay for each hour worked beyond 35 hours per week, and requiring them to work an additional hour each day without increasing their pay.  In the instant case, the Grievants are being required to work an additional 9 days per year without any additional compensation.
  Grievants demonstrated that Respondent violated the non-relegation clause.


The following Conclusions of Law support the Decision reached.


Conclusions of Law

1.
When an employer seeks to have a grievance dismissed on the basis that it was not timely filed, the employer has the burden of demonstrating such untimely filing by a preponderance of the evidence. Once the employer has demonstrated a grievance has not been timely filed, the employee has the burden of demonstrating a proper basis to excuse his failure to file in a timely manner. Higginbotham v. W. Va. Dep't of Pub. Safety, Docket No. 97-DPS-018 (Mar. 31, 1997); Sayre v. Mason County Health Dep't, Docket No. 95-MCHD-435 (Dec. 29, 1995), aff'd, Circuit Court of Mason County, No. 96-C-02 (June 17, 1996). See Ball v. Kanawha County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 94-20-384 (Mar. 13, 1995); Woods v. Fairmont State College, Docket No. 93-BOD-157 (Jan. 31, 1994); Jack v. W. Va. Div. of Human Serv., Docket No. 90-DHS-524 (May 14, 1991).  


2.
West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-3(a)(1) requires an employee to "file a grievance within the time limits specified in this article."  West Virginia CODE § 6C-2-4(a)(1) identifies the time lines for filing a grievance and states:

Within fifteen days following the occurrence of the event upon which the grievance is based, or within fifteen days of the date upon which the event became known to the employee, or within fifteen days of the most recent occurrence of a continuing practice giving rise to a grievance, an employee may file a written grievance with the chief administrator stating the nature of the grievance and the relief requested and request either a conference or a hearing. . . .

The time period for filing a grievance ordinarily begins to run when the employee is “unequivocally notified of the decision being challenged.” Harvey v. W. Va. Bureau of Empl. Programs, Docket No. 96-BEP-484 (Mar. 6, 1998); Whalen v. Mason County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 97-26-234 (Feb. 27, 1998).


3.
 The application of Respondent’s new Policy regarding release days is a continuing practice, which recurs each time the Policy is applied to an employee.   Respondent did not demonstrate that the grievance was not timely filed.  King, et al., v. Lewis County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 2014-0456-CONS (Aug. 26, 2015); Blon/Exline v. W. Va. Univ., Docket No. 07-HE-152 (June 16, 2008).  See Martin v. Randolph County Bd. of Educ., 195 W. Va. 297, 465 S.E.2d 399 (1995); Craig v. W. Va. Dep’t of Health and Human Resources, Docket No. 98-HHR-334 (June 24, 1999).


4.
As this grievance does not involve a disciplinary matter, Grievants have the burden of proving their grievance by a preponderance of the evidence.  Procedural Rules of the Public Employees Grievance Bd. 156 C.S.R. 1 § 3 (2008);  Howell v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 89-DHS-72 (Nov. 29, 1990).  See also Holly v. Logan County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 96-23-174 (Apr. 30, 1997);  Hanshaw v. McDowell County Bd. of Educ., Docket No. 33-88-130 (Aug. 19, 1988).  "The preponderance standard generally requires proof that a reasonable person would accept as sufficient that a contested fact is more likely true than not."  Leichliter v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Human Res., Docket No. 92-HHR-486 (May 17, 1993).


5.
A service personnel employee “may not be: (1) Reclassified by class title; or (2) Relegated to any condition of employment which would result in a reduction of his or her salary, rate of pay, compensation or benefits earned during the current fiscal year; or for which he or she would qualify by continuing in the same job position and classification held during that fiscal year and subsequent years,” without his or her consent.  W. Va. Code § 18A-4-8(m).


6.
Respondent’s new Policy resulted in a reduction of benefits to Grievants without their consent, in violation of the non-relegation clause of West Virginia Code § 18A-4-8(m).


Accordingly, this grievance is GRANTED.  Respondent is ORDERED to restore Grievants’ 9 paid vacation days effective the beginning of the 2015-2016 school year, and as that school year has already concluded, either to pay them for those 9 days or allow them to carry those 9 days over to the 2016-2017 school year to take as paid vacation days.


Any party may appeal this Decision to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County.  Any such appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of receipt of this Decision.  See W. Va. Code § 6C-2-5.  Neither the West Virginia Public Employees Grievance Board nor any of its Administrative Law Judges is a party to such appeal and should not be so named.  However, the appealing party is required by W. Va. Code § 29A-5-4(b) to serve a copy of the appeal petition upon the Grievance Board.  The appealing party must also provide the Board with the civil action number so that the certified record can be prepared and properly transmitted to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County.  See also 156 C.S.R. 1 § 6.20 (2008).






                 __________________________________









      BRENDA L. GOULD

Date:
August 11, 2016


       Deputy Chief Administrative Law Judge 
�  This Policy was implemented with the approval of the State Board of Education, which has intervened in the Gilmer County school system.


�  Unlike Nott, Respondent offered no rationale for the change in policy, other than to state that some employees were getting a lot of days off work.






