THE WEST VIRGINIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES
GRIEVANCE BOARD

ELISA MARIE HUGHES,
Grievant,

V. DOCKET NO. 2011-1071-MAPS

DIVISION OF VETERAN’S AFFAIRS,
Respondent.

DECISION

Grievant, Elisa Marie Hughes, filed this grievance against her former employer, the
Division of Veteran’s Affairs, at level three of the grievance procedure, on February 2,
2011, contesting the termination of her probationary employment for unsatisfactory
performance. As relief Grievant sought, “[tJo have no adverse information in my personnel
file, to have the right to apply later for positions at the WVVNF, and be able to work at the
WVVNF through USNN.”

A level three hearing was held before the undersigned Administrative Law Judge
onJune 14,2011, inthe Grievance Board’s Westover office. Grievant represented herself,
and Respondent was represented by Mary M. Downey, Assistant Attorney General. This
matter became mature for decision on July 14, 2011, the deadline for submission of written
argument. Grievant chose not to submit written argument.

Synopsis

Grievant was dismissed from her probationary employment as a Nurse Supervisor

atthe Veterans Nursing Home because of her excessive absenteeism and failure to attend

scheduled weekly meetings. During her 3 72 months of employment, Grievant called off



work 10 72 days. Grievant’s position had to be filled by another Nurse Supervisor working
a double shift, or by a contract nurse when Grievant was not there. It was critical for
Grievant to report to work as scheduled. Respondent could not depend on Grievant to
report to work as scheduled and fulfill her duties as a supervisor. Grievant did not
demonstrate that her performance was satisfactory as a probationary employee. Grievant
did demonstrate that it was improper for Respondent to withhold severance pay when
Grievant chose not to report to work after she was notified of her dismissal.

The following Findings of Fact are made based upon the record developed at level
three.

Findings of Fact

1. Grievant began her employment as a Nurse Il (“Nurse Supervisor”) with the
Division of Veteran’s Affairs (“DVA”), at the West Virginia Veterans Nursing Facility in
Clarksburg, West Virginia, on October 1, 2010. She was hired as a probationary
employee, with a six-month probationary period. Grievant worked as the supervisor of
nursing on the 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. shift.

2. Grievant was absent from work on October 19, 26, and 27, November 29,
and 30, and December 29 and 30, 2010, and January 5, 6, and 7, 2011, and one-half of
the day on November 6, 2010. For some of these absences she submitted a doctor’s
excuse.

3. As a Nurse Supervisor, when Grievant was absent, either the other Nurse
Supervisors would have to cover her shift at the last minute, resulting in them working
double shifts, or an agency nurse would have to be hired to cover her shift, at the rate of

$300 for an eight hour shift. When Grievant did not report to work as scheduled it created
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a hardship for the facility. Good attendance is important in this position, and Grievant had
been made aware of this.

4. On October 25, 2010, Margie Brown, Director of Nursing at the Veterans
Nursing Facility, sent an email to Grievant and the other Nurse Supervisors advising them
that there would be weekly “QI/QM” meetings every Monday morning “to discuss clinical
Quality Indicators and Quality Measures.” Subjects to be discussed at these meetings
were listed as “[r]estraints, falls, weights, wounds, incontinence, declining ADLS and med
errors.” These were critical care issues at the facility. The email stated, “[e]veryone
receiving this email should make every effort to attend this meeting weekly.”

5. Grievant did not attend any QI/QM meetings.

6. Grievant did not attend a mandatory in-service training session on January
11,2011, regarding “Reporting and Investigating Allegations of Abuse, Neglect and Theft,”
because she had a high fever.

7. By letter dated January 19, 2011, Grievant was advised that she was being
dismissed for unsatisfactory performance, effective February 3, 2011. Grievant was given
15 days’ notice, and she was to continue to work at the Facility through February 3, 2011.
The letter states that Grievant's unsatisfactory performance was related to her poor
attendance record.

8. Grievant did not wish to continue to work at the facility after she received her
dismissal notice, and at some point shortly after January 19, 2011, she turned in her keys
and did not report to work. She was paid only for 2 days out of the 15 days from January

19 through February 3, 2011, because she did not report to work during this period.



Discussion

When a probationary employee is terminated on grounds of unsatisfactory
performance, rather than misconduct, the termination is not disciplinary, and the burden
of proof is upon the employee to establish that his/her services were satisfactory. Bonnell
v. W. Va. Dep't of Corrections, Docket No. 89-CORR-163 (Mar. 8, 1990). Grievant “is
required to prove that it is more likely than not that [her] services were, in fact, of a
satisfactory level.” Bush v. Dep’t of Transp., Docket No.2008-1489-DOT (Nov. 12, 2008).

The Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rule discusses the probationary period
of employment, describing it as “a trial work period designed to allow the appointing
authority an opportunity to evaluate the ability of the employee to effectively perform the
work of his or her position and to adjust himself or herself to the organization and program
of the agency.” The same provision goes on to state that the employer “shall use the
probationary period for the most effective adjustment of a new employee and the
elimination of those employees who do not meet the required standards of work.” 143
C.S.R. 1§ 10.1(a). A probationary employee may be dismissed at any point during the
probationary period that the employer determines his services are unsatisfactory. 143
C.S.R. 1 § 10.5(a). The Division of Personnel's Administrative Rules establish a low
threshold to justify termination of a probationary employee. Livingston v. Dep’t of Health
and Human Res., Docket No.2008-0770-DHHR (Mar. 21, 2008). A probationary employee
is

not entitled to the usual protections enjoyed by a state employee. The

probationary period is used by the employer to ensure that the employee will
provide satisfactory service. An employer may decide to either dismiss the



employee or simply not to retain the employee after the probationary period
expires.

Hackman v. W. Va. Dep't of Transp., Docket No. 01-DMV-582 (Feb. 20, 2002).

While Respondent acknowledged that Grievant did her job well when she came to
work, the problem was that she frequently called off work at the last minute. Grievant
testified that on at least three occasions this was due to iliness, and that she had submitted
a doctor’s excuse, and on one occasion she went home with what she described as a
migraine headache. She did not explain the reasons for her remaining seven absences.
Grievant was in a critical supervisory position, and her position had to be filled for the
safety of the residents, whether Grievant reported to work or not. While Grievant may have
been able to fill some less critical position, it is clear that Respondent could not count on
Grievant to fulfill her duties as a supervisor, and that Respondent needs someone in that
position who will report to work as scheduled. Grievant further demonstrated a disregard
for the needs of the facility by her failure to attend any of the QI meetings. Grievant
testified that she and another Nurse Supervisor were told they could alternate attendance.
Assuming this to be true, Grievant did not attend every other meeting either. Grievant did
not demonstrate that her performance was satisfactory.

The only remaining issue is whether Grievant should be paid for the remaining days
during her notice period, after she turned in her keys and refused to report to work.
Respondent argued that Grievant had abandoned her position, and was not entitled to
severance pay. Grievant stated that she felt very uncomfortable about returning to work
after she had been fired, and pointed out that the Division of Personnel’s Rules state that

the employee cannotbe required to work after being notified that they are being dismissed.



Grievant is clearly correct. While Respondent is correct that an employee who abandons
her job is not entitled to severance pay, Respondent’s argument that Grievant abandoned
her position after her dismissal is specious.

The Division of Personnel’s Rule 12.2 provides with regard to the 15-day notice
period, as follows:

(b) An appointing authority may require that an employee dismissed for
cause immediately vacate the workplace, or an employee dismissed for
cause may elect to do so. If the appointing authority requires a dismissed
employee to immediately vacate the workplace in lieu of working during the
notice period, or if an employee who receives notice of dismissal for cause
elects to immediately vacate the workplace, the employee is entitled to
receive severance pay attributable to the time he or she otherwise would
have worked, up to a maximum of fifteen calendar days after vacating the
workplace. Receipt of severance pay does not affect any other right to which
the employee is entitled with respect to the dismissal.

(c) An appointing authority may dismiss an employee for job abandonment

who is absent from work for more than three consecutive workdays without

notice to the appointing authority of the reason for the absence as required

by established agency policy. The dismissal is effective fifteen calendar days

after the appointing authority notifies the employee of the dismissal. Under

circumstances in which the term job abandonment becomes synonymous

with the term resignation, an employee dismissed forjob abandonment is not

eligible for severance pay.

An employee is not required to work during the 15-day notice period after she has
been notified of her dismissal. Grievant chose not to work after being notified of her
dismissal, but was paid for only two days. She is entitled to payment for the remaining
days.

The following Conclusions of Law support the Decision reached.

Conclusions of Law

1. When a probationary employee is terminated on grounds of unsatisfactory

performance, rather than misconduct, the termination is not disciplinary, and the burden
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of proof is upon the employee to establish that his/her services were satisfactory. Bonnell
v. W. Va. Dep't of Corr., Docket No. 89-CORR-163 (Mar. 8, 1990).

2. The Division of Personnel’s Administrative Rule 143 C.S.R. 1 § 10.5(a),
establishes a low threshold to justify termination of a probationary employee. Livingston
v. Dep’t of Health and Human Res., Docket No. 2008-0770-DHHR (Mar. 21, 2008).

3. Grievant did not demonstrate that her performance was satisfactory during
her probationary period.

4. An employee who is dismissed is not required to report to work during the 15-
day notice period. 143 C.S.R. 1§ 12.2.

5. Grievantdemonstrated that Respondent wasrequired to pay her forthe days

she chose not to report to work during the 15-day notice period.

Accordingly, this grievance is GRANTED IN PART, AND DENIED IN PART.
Respondentis ORDERED to pay Grievant her salary for the days during the 15-day notice
period after she received notice of her dismissal, less the 2 days for which she was paid,
including any additional pay for any annual leave accrued during the 15-day notice period
for which Grievant has not been previously paid. The remainder of the grievance is

DENIED, and Grievant will not be reinstated to her position with Respondent.



Any party or the Division of Personnel may appeal this Decision to the Circuit Court
of Kanawha County. Any such appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of receipt of this
Decision. See W. VA. Cobe § 6C-2-5. Neither the West Virginia Public Employees
Grievance Board nor any of its Administrative Law Judges is a party to such appeal and
should not be so named. However, the appealing party is required by W. VA. CoDE §
29A-5-4(b) to serve a copy of the appeal petition upon the Grievance Board. The
appealing party must also provide the Board with the civil action number so that the
certified record can be prepared and properly transmitted to the Circuit Court of Kanawha

County. See also 156 C.S.R. 1 § 6.20 (2008).

BRENDA L. GOULD
Administrative Law Judge
Date: July 29, 2011
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